top of page

My Most Used Art Supplies


One of the greatest joys of making art is the supplies. Especially shopping for them! Each marker, pen, and drawing pad is a little universe of new possibilities. Sometimes I enjoy picking up new supplies and trying something entirely new. Yet, much like going to my favorite restaurant, I have my tried and true "comfort food" supplies. The ones I've used for years and just feel "right" to me.

 

As a disclaimer, I'm not being paid to promote anything on this list. This is just me rambling about what I love. If you wish to support my continued growth and future posts, you are more than welcome to do! You can find more information on the "Support" page of this site.

 

Canson Brand Paper

Hands down, Canson is the best paper I've ever used. I've used tons of paper over the years. Sketchbooks, watercolor paper, bristol pads, marker paper--you name it, I've marked it. Canson stands apart to me for their bristol and sketchbooks. Both hold media without smearing ( a huge issue I have with Strathmore) and markers retain their color without dulling out on the paper. Plus, their recycled paper options are actually good.

Copic Markers

There's a reason why these bad boys are the Lamborghini of the marker world. HIghly pigmented, incredibly smooth, and--wait for it--refillable. Once you buy a marker, it can last you your entire career. All you need is a few ink refills and replacement tips! The only real downside to the Copic system is cost. Thankfully that can be remedied with a few coupons and some smart shopping.

I'm also a huge fan of their Spica pens--magical colored glitter pens that are bright, smooth, and don't clog!

I swear, Sakura makes a pen for every occasion. Need a micro tip? They got you. Need something bold and purple? Check. Want an opaque white gel pen for accents? YUP. Sakura pens hold up to a lot of abuse and--unless your ink is still wet--you won't have any issue with smears of ink across your masterpiece. They even hold up to watercolors without a single issue.

Prismacolor Pencils

While I'm not in love with their markers, I've been using their colored pencils since high school. Not only are they a great pencil for pure colored pencil works, they blend great with Copic markers. Some of my mixed media works are primarily colored by me layering Copics and Prismacolors. For all you comic creators and illustrators out there, Prismacolor col-erase pencils are fantastic for your initial sketch work. Some of the colors are a bit harder to erase out than others (looking at you, GREEN) but those lines won't show up when you scan or take a photo of your work! Seriously a lifesaver for artists who draw traditionally and color digitally.

 

And there we have it, a quick tour of what I love and use the most. Have you used any of the supplies on this list? What are your favorite supplies? Let me know in comments!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page