top of page

Double the Conventions, Double the Fun!


One month, two conventions, and now I'm back! Wizard World Comic Con and Gem State Gaming Con were a ton of fun, and incredibly different conventions. So, let's take a look at what I've learned! Wizard World

I was so nervous before this show! Wizard World was the first time I had two artist alley tables to fill. It was also the first time I've sold at a classic Comic-Con style convention. Comic-Con conventions are definitely their own beasts. The reasons why people attend these shows is vastly different than the motivations behind attending other conventions.

First and foremost, people are at these shows for the guests. Not the panels, not the events, and definitely not for sporadic hangout time between events. If something isn't going on, a participant is more likely to leave the convention space entirely than find a way to fill in the time. If they do stick around, they may wander the dealer's areas to kill time, but (generally speaking) they're not looking to purchase anything. The difference in audience demographics, motivation, and expectations creates a unique set of issues for the artist. Here's a short list of things I've learned from this show:

1| DO NOT go into an event like this expecting to make a lot of money. The vast majority of the vendors I spoke to didn't even clear the price of the table--myself included. Don't despair, or be discouraged by a large attendee count if you don't sell a lot. Most major conventions use a type of ticket counting that makes the numbers sound larger than they really are.

2| Be respectful to those around you: no one like that guy who cuts across conversations for their sales pitch, or plays 20 seconds of Smash Mouth on the ocarina every minute and a half. Yes, technically, vendors are in competition. But don't be a butt in the bid to make sales.

3| Find a trusted companion to help you at your table. This frees you up to network outside of your space and to trade out for breaks. This frees you up to network outside of your space, and to trade out for lunch breaks. Wizard World's biggest flaw was how they treated vendors. By contract, we were expected to man the booth for upwards of 10 hours without a break. Keep in mind, we pay them (a lot) for these tables. Yet, without warning or reason, we were suddenly banned from bringing any form of outside food with us into the convention space. So, bring a buddy, put your health first, and be your own advocate.

4| Remember to pack out your most valuable stock and belonging every night, and bring a couple blankets to cover the table. From what I could tell, our room was left open all weekend, even after the building was locked down for the day.

5| Do your research ahead of time! If you are selling fan art of any variety, try to offer at least one work of art centered around the guests. Even if it doesn't sell well, it can be a great focal point to bringing people to your table.

6| Speaking of research, make notes of who is interested in your art. This can help you pinpoint your audience and will help with marketing later on!

7| Network, network, network. The real value of these shows isn't in the money, but the networking opportunities. Talk to other vendors, people stopping by the table, and always offer them a business card! And make sure you follow up on checking out any business cards you receive after the show!

Gem State Gaming Convention

Ah, Gem State. now this is what I think of when I look back on conventions. A community brimming with excitement and life! Of course, to be fair, seeing my hard work plasted on the front of the schedule and on t-shirts totally helped with that feeling. But, I wouldn't help out with a convention I didn't believe in! Gem State, at its core, is about gaming and community. There were events going on all weekend and, if you were bored, demo games you could check out and play. Some of these games were up for a raffle later on, so participants had a chance to take a game they really enjoyed home with them. Heck, even participating in events gave attendees "meeple money" which could be redeemed for various prizes. Add in some cosplay, Meridian Library's Harry Potter escape room, active fundraising for Alzheimer's research, Wrestle Club, and video game events and you have a well-rounded convention.

Maybe it's a bit foolhardy, but in my experience, I would rather sell at a smaller, community minded convention, than most major ones. Large conventions bring in some glitz and glamor, but nothing beats a convention that feels like home.

The only real downside to Gem State was a lack of space for me. We were pretty tight up against the wall this year, and I didn't have a spot where I could comfortably work. Thankfully, that's an easy fix. Next year, I'll remember to bring a folding tray so I can work while I'm there!

So, in short, Wizard World was a enriching experience, but I am uncertain about participating in their Boise show next year. It was a great testing ground for the set up I want to use for Fan X and Snake River Comic Con later this year, and gave me some insight on what I can do to improve. I'm just uncertain if doing more conventions with their business model is really for me. Sometimes, the greatest takeaway is knowing what you dislike, as much as what you enjoy.

 

Did you go to either of these events? What was your impression? Do you disagree with my takeaway? Feel free to let me know in the comments! You put up with my rambling, so it's only fair that you get the chance too!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page