top of page

Men of Hyrule

Blog schedule is being shuffled around a bit due to the Holidays and the epic sickness going around. Starting a Bujo will be one of the first topics for next year! Be safe and Merry Christmas!

 

One of my grandest dreams the past couple years, was being selected to work on a zine. Why? Because they're so cool! Unlike regular book publications, zines are labors of love, focused around a singular fandom or topic. They're giant love letters co-written by a rag-tag band of artists. Zines are also hard to get into and highly competitive, with hundreds of artists applying for, typically, less than 20 slots. As I often have to create artwork alone and for clients, I always dreamed it would be loads of fun to work alongside other artists towards a common goal, Guess what? I was right!

Being selected for and creating a piece for Men of Hyrule is easily one of my career highlights. It was amazing seeing everyone come together, share their work in progress images, and discuss their vision for the zine. All of the artists who worked on this zine are amazing people, who poured their heart into their pieces to show their love for the franchise. To me, the best part of our collaboration was when, as a group, we all decided to donate the proceeds to charity! Each copy will send love and support to Puerto Rico and hurricane relief efforts.

It was so refreshing to work on something that wasn't job related. For the longest time, I've been struggling with burnout and the depression that can come with that. When you feel like you're always working for someone else, it can really suck all the love for your craft out of you. Creating my piece for the zine was just what I needed to alleviate that. I could focus on a character I love in an environment I enjoyed working on. I could push myself to work on a composition most clients wouldn't appreciate. I was free. It reminded me of the sheer joy that comes from creating art simply because YOU want to!

Pre-orders for Men of Hyrule end December 31st. If we pre-sell enough copies, we can purchase bonus items to send along with your copy! You can pre-order your copy on TicTail!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page