top of page

Monthly Inspiration: November 2017

This post topic was chosen by my lovely Patreons! Thank you for taking the time to vote! Every month, Patreons get to vote on upcoming content

 

Ah, November. That poor, in-between month that often gets forgotten by major retailers. It's a month of sporadic rain and the first, taunting snowflakes of winter.

In other words, it's the perfect time to curl up with the media of your choice without people attempting to drag you out into 100+ degree weather.

I've always been a person who needs a healthy dose of solitary time. Without my "Hobbit Time" I feel antsy, anxious and overwhelmed. Ever since I decided to rebrand and move in a more positive direction, I'm finding I need even more Hobbit Time than usual. I've been researching, catching up on some much needed rest, and finding what it is that actually feeds my spirit. This is the first time in 7 years that I've asked myself to slow down and create what I want to see in the world. No more chasing fandoms, no more trying to make what's popular. Art suffers if there's no love behind it.

Without further ado, here are some things that have been feeding my inner Hobbit this month:

I'm a big Power Rangers and Super Sentai geek, so when a friend told me that a Critical Role and Power Rangers hybrid was coming to Twitch, I was all over it. We've been watching every stream as they come out, and they've been amazing! The energy of the cast, and the storytelling have been top notch. The best part, is that it's all cannon! I highly recommend watching the livestreams on Tuesday nights, but you can also catch up with previous episodes on Youtube.

Fans of Harvest Moon and Stardew Valley, this is the game for you. For those unaware, Bokujou Monogatari lost the rights to the title Harvest Moon when they switched publishers. Natsume has been publishing their own Harvest Moon games since the split but . . they're not good. If you loved the games produced before 2014, get the Story of Seasons titles. Trust me.

Trio of Towns has an incredible amount of content. Like the title suggests, you live close to three towns, each with their own distinct culture and cast of characters. This means there's triple the character interactions, triple the festivals, and triple the cute fluffy animals! You can even keep a capybara as a pet, which is a total win in my book.

This tome is less of a book, and more a universe of tiny inspirations. Based off the work and blog of the same name, every image and word is tied into the same cozy, nordic aesthetic. I snagged a copy from the library, but I do believe I'll have to purchase a copy for myself. How I've existed online for so long without hearing a peep about this company will forever remain a mystery.

Milly the Husky (Instagram)

This puppy is a marshmallow. An adorable, lovable marshmallow.

There we have it! Four little things that get me inspired and thinking about art in new and interesting ways. What has been inspiring you this month? Have you enjoyed any of the same content I have? Let me know in the comments!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page