top of page

Crystal Mountain 2017 || Growing Pains

 

A few weeks later than I should be publishing this, but it's time to reminisce about CMPC! If you want to watch an awkward and strangely avante-garde video about the trip, by all means, watch the travel vlog above!

Next time I attempt a convention vlog, I'll do better I promise.

All in all, it was a strange trip for me. I've been a guest for CMPC before, and it's always been a mixed bag. In a couple weeks (Brittany time), I'll go into greater detail about the experience, contrasting it against Gem State Gaming. I love CMPC, I really do. But, even now, I'm uncertain if it's worth the time and energy to go back again next year. Now, not every convention is destined to be a life changing, soul awakening experience. But, they should at least be fun, right? Even if the worst happens, and you end up in debt because of poor sales, the fun and the experience should leave you with a good feeling. But that's the issue. I didn't have fun or enjoy myself at the convention. At night, with good friends and good food? Of course, I enjoyed myself then! Yet, being tied to a table where no one visits, having panels where no one shows, or getting ignored by staff when you need help? That isn't a good feeling.

My hope is that CMPC ( as well as a couple local conventions) are just having an off year. A year of growing pains. I remember the energy CMPC had when it first started--it was electric! Less than 200 guests, I recon, and they were the most enthusiastic group of people I had ever met. They made friends, hung out between events, interacted with community guests and, heck, even vendors who could care less about My Little Pony felt the love and said it was one of the most amazing conventions they had ever attended.

I want that excitement back.

I remember discussing my disappointment with Daine on the trip back. I told him I wanted us to go back to basics--to worry about sales and our bottom line a bit less, and go back to having fun and interacting with everyone we met. Granted, it's difficult to keep your energy going when no one's around to have fun, but it's a valuable lesson. Even I'm feeling some growing pains this year, it seems.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page